Research Guides: Open Access: Open Data Sources

What is Open Data?

Open Data: An Introduction

Open Data Initiatives

CIHR Open Access Policy (Canadian Institute of Health Research)- includes the requirement to provide Open Data

Data.gov - US Government

Data.gov.UK - United Kinkgdom

OECD Principles and Guidelines for Access to Research Data from Public Funding -ORGANISATION FOR ECONOMIC CO-OPERATION AND DEVELOPMENT

Open Data Commons -legal tools

Open Data Pilot Project - Canadian Government

Open Data Protocol - OData is a standardized protocol for creating and consuming data APIs.

Open Knowledge Foundation- a global movement to open up knowledge around the world and see it used and useful.

Open Science Summit -brings together leaders in Open Science

Protocol for Implementing Open Access Data -Science Commons

The year open data went worldwide

Citations and Open Data

Sharing Detailed Research Data Is Associated with Increased Citation Rate
The correlation between publicly available data and increased literature impact may further motivate investigators to share their detailed research data.
Data reuse and the open data citation advantage
Article reports a robust citation benefit from open data, although a smaller one than previously reported.
The Open Access Citation Advantage
Looks at studies on OA citations

Open Data Repositories

40 Places to Find Open Data on the Web
The ARDA
Strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Includes American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre
The Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC) is dedicated to the advancement of chemistry and crystallography for the public benefit through providing high quality information, software and services.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 29 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Climate Change Knowledge Portal
The Climate Change Knowledge Portal (CCKP) Beta is a central hub of information, data and reports about climate change around the world.
more...less...
Here you can query, map, compare, chart and summarize key climate and climate-related information.
Clinicaltrials.gov
Datahub
CKAN is free, open-source software, which has been developed by the Open Knowledge Foundation since 2006 and used by government and organisations around the world.
Dryad
A curated general-purpose repository that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable.
eCrystals
eCrystals - Southampton is the archive for Crystal Structures generated by the Southampton Chemical Crystallography Group and the EPSRC UK National Crystallography Service.
Figshare
Figshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner.
GenBank
GenBank ® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences
Geological Society of America Data Repository
An open file in which authors of articles in our journals can place information that supplements and expands on their article.
Google Public Data Explorer
Linked Open Data - data.europeana.eu
Linked Open Data is a way of publishing structured data that allows metadata to be connected and enriched, so that different representations of the same content can be found, and links made between related resources.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Mission: to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
National Center for Biotechnology Information
Data sets in the life sciences
National Oceanographic Data Center
Global environmental data operated by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).
National Space Science Data Center
NASA's permanent archive for space science mission data.
Open Data- Africa
The Open Data Platform is part of the AfDB’s “Africa Information Highway” initiative aimed at improving data collection, management, and dissemination in Africa. It will allow open access to the data needed for managing and monitoring development
Open Data for South Africa
PDB
Protein Data Bank
PubChem
PubChem is a free chemical database and an open archive of the biological activities of millions of substances. PubChem is a part of the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), a division of the U.S. N
Qualibank - UK data service
Open access qualitative data is maintained by The UK Data Service.
RCSB Protein DataBank
UNData
Databases focus on topics such as crime, the environment, gender, and health. Data are sortable by country and date.
World Bank
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.