Last Updated: Sep 30, 2014
Try using these listed resources to find background information on legislation, elected officials, and more.
- CQ Press Library
Contains links to all subscribed electronic Congressional Quarterly Press content including CQ Almanac; CQ Researcher Plus Archive; CQ Weekly; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; State Stats; and Supreme Court Yearbook as well as eBook versions of select CQ Press titles
- ProQuest Congressional
Broad database of US Congressional publications including Bills & Laws, Congressional Record Daily and Bound Editions, CRS Reports, Committee Prints, Hearings (Published & Unpublished), House & Senate Reports and Documents and other US Serial Set materials. Also includes congressional members and committees records and demographics, regulatory action and political news search capability.
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is the public policy research arm of the U.S. Congress which produces non-partisan, in-depth reports on a variety of topics relevant to current political events. The following notable web sites attempt to systematically deliver these reports to the greater public.
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information presented by the Library of Congress (successor to THOMAS)
- U.S. Census Bureau - Voting and Registration
Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of Congressional and Presidential election years in the Current Population Survey (CPS).
- Federal Elections Commission
Official website of the Presidential commission charged with administering and enforcing federal elections law.
- Election Statistics
Official vote counts for federal elections dating back to 1920 as published by the Clerk of the House from official sources.
- U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts
Easily accessible tables containing national and state level data related to population and business characteristics and geography
Actually not a federal site but excellent source devoted to government transparency
- LexisNexis Academic
Comprehensive database including full text news, legal, business and reference information.
- Newspaper Source
Select full text for over 400 national and regional U.S. newspapers as well as full text television and radio news transcripts.
- Washington Post
Archival coverage from 1877 through 1997. See ProQuest Congressional and Lexis Nexis Academic for more recent content.
- New York Times
Archival coverage from 1851 through 2010. See Lexis Nexis Academic for more recent content.
- National Journal
Full text of political weekly available via Ebsco from 2000 to present (with two week embargo)
- Sabato's Crystal Ball