If Kenyon doesn't have a copy of the book or article you need, you can request it from another CONSORT library or OhioLINK. You can also use WorldCat to search libraries worldwide and make an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request.

For information on ILL, and to login to your account (or create an account), go here. 

Use CONSORT, the shared catalog of Kenyon, Denison, Ohio Wesleyan, and Wooster, to find relevant books.

An author search will locate books, poems, plays, etc. by a particular author: gaskell, elizabeth

A title search will locate a specific work by an author: a room of one's own

Keyword searches:

• Find works (such as poems or stories) that appear in collections or anthologies 
• Goblin Market
• love and friendship (with Jane Austen's original spelling) 
• love and friendship and Austen (variant spelling of title)
• Find literary criticism about a particular work 
• Persuasion and Austen
• Find criticism related to themes, ideas, and topics in an author's works: 
• Wollstonecraft and feminism

When searching for literary criticism, consider using subject headings for more precise results. If a keyword search leads to a book that seems promising, click on the subject heading links at the bottom of the record to see similar items. You can also select "subject heading" in the "search by" box and try the following:

• Eliot, George, 1819-1880. Middlemarch 
• Austen, Jane, 1775-1817 -- Criticism and interpretation 
• Women And Literature -- Great Britain -- History -- 19th Century

You can also search the OhioLINK catalog, which contains the holdings of 89 college and university libraries across Ohio.

The CONSORT and OhioLINK catalogs do not contain information about individual articles published in journals. However, if you have a citation to a journal article--the author's name, the title of the article, the title of the journal, and the date or volume/issue number--you can search by journal title in CONSORT to determine if the library has the journal in print, electronically, or in microfilm.

To search for articles on your topic, use an index or database. In many cases, you can get the full text of the article by following a link from the database. If you're searching in an index without links to full-text articles, you'll need to search by journal title in CONSORT as described above.

The search process will vary for each resource, but here are a few tips to keep in mind:

• Come up with good keywords. 
• Consider synonyms, alternate spellings, and other ways to approach your topic. 
• Look for subject headings. 
• Most databases will include their own subject headings. When you find a relevant article, click on a subject heading, or refine your search to include both a subject heading and keywords, to find similar articles. 
• Set reasonable limits. 
• Some databases will let you limit your search--examples of limits include choosing to search just peer-reviewed (scholarly) journals, or just book reviews, or just articles published in English. Sometimes limits are helpful; if you don't want book reviews or articles written in a language you don't read, it doesn't hurt to limit your search accordingly. But be careful not to impose too many limits, especially if you're just beginning your research--extremely narrow searches will rarely lead you to "the perfect article." 
• Use bibliographies. 
• If you do happen to find the perfect article (or a great essay in a reference work, or a relevant book on your topic), check out the bibliography, and then search for some of the listed sources.