New Studio Art Titles
Useful Books, Encyclopedias, Databases, & Websites
- Concise Oxford dictionary of art termsCall Number: KEN Ref N 33 C575 2010
- Dictionary of artists (Benezit)Call Number: KEN Ref N 40 B4713 2005 vol. 1-14
- Encyclopedia of world artCall Number: KEN Ref N 31 E4833 vol. 1-17
- From abacus to Zeus: a handbook of art historyCall Number: KEN Ref N 33 P5 1995
- Tate guide to modern art termsCall Number: KEN Ref N 34 W55 2008
- Yale dictionary of art and artistsCall Number: KEN Ref N 33 L353 2000
- Anatomy lessons from the great mastersCall Number: NC760 .H27 1977 (in the main stacks)
- Atlas of human anatomy for the artist Atlas of human anatomy for the artistCall Number: KEN Ref NC 760 P35
- Drawing from lifeCall Number: NC760 .B86 1997 (in the main stacks)
- Human anatomy for artists: the elements of form Call Number: KEN Ref NC 760 G67 1991Call Number: KEN Ref NC 760 G67 1991
- Archives of American Art, Smithsonian InstituteSince 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.
- sculptor.orgLinks to over 400 pages of resources from the "resources for sculptors" page.
- National Museum of Women in the ArtsFounded in 1987, NMWA is the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to recognizing women’s creative contributions.
- AxiswebArtists network in Great Britain.
Library Catalogs
Our membership in several library consortia permit you to initiate requests for materials (books, some bound journals, films, etc) using your last name and Kenyon barcode (on the back of your campus ID).
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, journals and magazines, music scores, archival materials, and media in libraries worldwide
Helpful Tutorials
Scroll through the videos to find useful tutorials on Searching Consort, Using Google Scholar, Finding the Full Text of an Article, and more!
Searching Catalogs
-
Gather a list of useful art terms or artists names from lecture notes and/or assigned readings to begin your research in the CONSORT or OhioLINK library catalogs. Books owned by other CONSORT libraries may be requested and will be sent here in 5-6 working days. If you cannot locate books or films on your topic or all of the CONSORT copies are checked out, you should search the OhioLINK online card catalog for additional copies. Books, and some bound volumes of journals, may be requested from the OhioLINK catalog using your barcode on the back of your student ID.
- Interlibrary Loan Requests, for journal articles or books not in CONSORT or OhioLINK, may be filled out using our online form, if you need assistance filling out the form based on a citation you found or have a question about a journal abbreviation, etc. just stop by the information desk for assistance. Everyone has to create an ILIAD account to submit an Interlibrary Loan Requests.
- Suggestion: Begin your research using simple WORD searches and take notes on the various subject headings included in the online records for books and films. These 'subject headings' often carry over for use in journal indexes and so it is important to keep a running list of terms you glean from databases and indexes.
-
- example WORD search for books:
- example SAMPLE SUBJECT HEADING search for books:
-
If you are working on a topic which the library may own a documentary about it is possible to refine your searches further. From a general search page select the 'limit/sort' or 'modify search' button at the top of the search screen and then click on the relevant search option(s). In most instances do not limit to only DVD format, instead you should select 'either' as this will locate DVD's and 1/2 inch VHS tapes held in our collection. The library owns VHS players in the Multimedia Collections Room.
- example WORD search for books:
Andy Warhol
example WORD search modified to locate either DVD or VHS
Andy Warhol
