Librarian |
Contact Info Fine Arts Librarian Olin Library 318 Campus phone PBX 5340 740-427-5340 Reference Desk Hours: Tues & Wed 3-5pm Thursday 6-9pm Office Hours: 9-5 Monday-Thursday 9-1 Friday Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Old friends
Current editions of style manuals are available at the Reference Desk.
Comments (0)
Getting started
Reference sources can help you to begin your research and guide you in your approach to a new topic. Encyclopedias and biographical dictionaries can help you to learn more about a topic or a person, and to place them in wider historical and cultural contexts. Reference sources include encyclopedias, biographical dictionaries, research handbooks, Web pages, and more. Browse reference materials in the Reference section, on the second floor of Chalmers near Helpline. You can also search for reference sources using the Advanced Search screen in CONSORT, by limiting the location to KEN Reference.
- Oxford Reference OnlineSearch across Oxford Reference Encyclopedias, or search by subject.
- Dictionary of American HistoryTen-volume set. Articles include bibliographies. Older editions are located in the Main stacks under the same call number.
- Encyclopedia of American Historical Documents
- Europe 1450 to 1789 : encyclopedia of the early modern worldThe first volume in this six-volume set includes a chronology of Europe. Maps and bibliographies are included, as well as some full-color illustrations.
- Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical EncyclopediaFrom the Jewish Women's Archive. The encyclopedia is extremely thorough and international in scope.
Look at the Jewish Women's Archive page as well for primary sources, historical timelines, and more. - The New Cambridge Modern HistoryThis fourteen-volume work covers the period from 1493 through 1945. See the original Cambridge Modern History set [KEN Main D208 .C17 ] for extensive bibliographies that were not included in the new edition.
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Research Manuals
- A short guide to writing about historyChapter three focuses on historical research.
- The American Historical Association's guide to historical literatureLocated in the reference section. Contains citations of publications grouped by geographic region and period of history. Volume II focuses on sources in United States History, including primary sources.
Also available as an e-book.
New Books in History
Loading...


Loading...
