Finding Books
Gather a list of useful words or terms from lecture notes and/or assigned readings to begin your research. Books owned by other Consor or Ohiolinkt libraries may be requested and will usually arrive in a week. Use the barcode on the back of your student ID to order books.
Begin your research using simple WORD searches and take notes on the various subject headings listed for books which you find. If you prefer to use proper SUBJECT HEADING searches, consult the appropriate volume of the Library of Congress Subject Headings (a copy is available at the Information Desk). Subject headings often carry over for use in journal indexes and so it is useful to keep a running list of terms you glean from databases and indexes
- CONSORT Library CatalogKenyon, Denison, Ohio Wesleyan, and Wooster
- OhioLINK Library CatalogMost academic libraries in Ohio plus several public libraries.
- WorldCatCatalog of books, sound recordings, video recordings, manuscripts, etc. throughout the world.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan requests, for journal articles or books not available from Consort or Ohiolink, may be filled out using our online form, if you need assistance filling out the form based on a citation you found or have a question about a journal abbreviation, etc. just stop by the information desk for assistance. Everyone has to create an ILIAD account to submit an Interlibrary Loan requests. Select a password which is easy to remember, but not the same as your network or email account (the password does not change every 6 months as our network accounts do at present).
Writing and Citing
Finding Journal Articles
Citations to scholarly journal articles may be located using the indexes listed below. A 'citation' is the information you will need to locate an article in a specific volume of a journal, including the author's name, the title of the the article, the title of the journal, the volume number, the issue number, and the page number(s) of the article. You may repeat the search string you used to locate books, adding key terms to narrow very broad searches.
To determine if the Kenyon Library owns a journal title listed in your citation search the journal title in the Consort catalog using the 'journal title' search option..
- Historical Abstracts Indexes 2,300 journals from 1955 to present.
- Academic Search Complete Multi-disciplinary full text database.
- Academic (LexisNexis) Full text news, legal, business and reference sources
- ATLA Religion Database Religious studies.
- ITER Covers the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Full Text Journal Databases
- JSTOR 1,800 full text journals.
- Electronic Journal Center 9,100 full text journals.
Finding Newspaper Articles
- World Newspaper Archive Historical newspapers from around the world.
- African Newspapers 60 African newspapers, 1800-1922.
- Ethnic NewsWatch Indexes ethnic, minority and native press.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports and Annexes Foreign views and perspectives on historical events from 1946 to 1996.
- Newspaper Source Full text for 40 U.S. and international papers.
Librarian |
Contact Info Fine Arts Librarian Olin Library 318 Campus phone PBX 5340 740-427-5340 Reference Desk Hours: Tues & Wed 3-5pm Thursday 6-9pm Office Hours: 9-5 Monday-Thursday 9-1 Friday Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
