This is the "Independent Project Guidelines" page of the "HIST 163 Modern China" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 163 Modern China  

Last Updated: Jan 10, 2014 URL: http://kenyon.libguides.com/hist163modernchina Print Guide RSS Updates

Independent Project Guidelines Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Final Project Due Date

Bibliographies, papers & essays are due December 14, 2012

 

Choose an Option

Choose one of the three options by 4 pm Friday 9/28

1) a short research paper (1500 words or 6 pages) with an annotated bibliography,

2) a 15 minute oral presentation, with an annotated bibliography (see separate guidelines for the oral presentation, and sign up early with instructor),

3) an extended essay (2000 words or about 8 pages) analyzing the primary sources selected.

Probably not everyone will be able to make an oral presentation to class, because of time constraints.  I will sign up people on a first-come first-serve basis, so consult with me early if this option interests you.   After emailing your choice to me by 9/28, sign up for a time to come talk to me about your project sometime in October, before the topic statement is due.

 

Choose a Topic

Choose a topic & set of  primary sources from Atwill by 4 pm Wednesday 10/31

1.      Compile a set of primary sources from the Atwill sourcebook on a particular topic or issue.  Atwill provides a convenient Thematic Table of Contents on pp. xiv-xviii, a good starting place.  Your set may include documents from different themes, should include at least 4-5 documents or more, and must include at least two documents not assigned for class.

2.      Consult with instructor as early as possible.  You will turn in a topic statement on Wednesday Oct. 31.

3.      Topic statement (with Atwill sources listed by number) due Wednesday Oct. 31, in an email to instructor by 4 pm.   

 

Focusing your Topic

Narrow the scope enough to focus a presentation or research essay within the allotted constraints (15 minutes, 6 pages) and still make a coherent argument.   An extended essay analyzing the sources will have greater scope for exploring various facets of a problem or question.

Brainstorm with a partner (if you do the oral presentation as a pair) and/or with the instructor to articulate your topic or issue in the form of one or two focused, concrete questions, the attempt to answer which will guide your research and shape your research paper or presentation.   You will also articulate these questions in the introductory discussion to your annotated bibliography. 

 No matter how contemporary your topic, or which option you choose, you need to contextualize it historically, and the sources from Atwill should help you to do that.  Use them to help you make an argument about change over time, for example. 

 Compiling the annotated bibliography (options 1 & 2):

The annotated bibliography should contain at least six (6) secondary sources (books and articles) and one (1) primary source beyond those selected from Atwill, Sources in Chinese History, that you define as your research foundation.   You should have a minimum of eight (8) titles:  6 secondary sources, the Atwill volume (this will probably become several more titles, once you track down the original sources from which Atwill drew the documents), and another primary source. You may include more sources, as you find them.  Your oral report or essay should make use of the primary sources and at least three of the secondary sources.

 

The Annotated Bibliography (Options 1 & 2)

The annotated bibliography should contain at least six (6) secondary sources (books and articles) and one (1) primary source beyond those selected from Atwill, Sources in Chinese History, that you define as your research foundation.   You should have a minimum of eight (8) titles:  6 secondary sources, the Atwill volume (this will probably become several more titles, once you track down the original sources from which Atwill drew the documents), and another primary source. You may include more sources, as you find them.  Your oral report or essay should make use of the primary sources and at least three of the secondary sources.   Arrange entries in ALPHABETICAL ORDER BY AUTHOR’S LAST NAME (or by name of editor or translator).  Identify which sources are your primary sources (list separately, if you want).

  1. One book (or article), probably identified in a citation from Atwill, or by way of a footnote, bibliography, list of suggested readings, or instructor’s suggestion. This should be a secondary source, or work produced by a contemporary scholar on the topic.
  2. At least two other books or monographs on subjects related specifically to your topic (not general histories); if you use a collection of essays, be sure to cite the specific chapter/s related to your subject.  Altogether you should have at least 3 books (secondary sources).
  3. Three articles (two, if citation #1 above, is an article) published in peer-reviewed journals found in the library or in an electronic database such as JSTOR.  These too are secondary sources.  The articles should be written by at least two different authors, and at least one should be recent (within the last 10 years).
  4. At least one primary source, in addition to the set from Atwill.
  5. The primary sources from the Atwill sourcebook that form your foundation.  List them in separate entries, and try to find the original source that Atwill excerpts them from.

    Annotations to each entry in your bibliography should:  1) explain where and how you found the entry, 2) describe its nature and contents [e.g., read book reviews, if available], 3) explain how it relates to the other entries in the bibliography and how other authors use it (those who did), and 4) how it contributes to your report or paper.  Be specific but concise (a few sentences).

Your final written submission should contain the three elements described below if you do the paper, or the first two if you do the oral presentation.  You should use at least three of your secondary sources, along with the primary sources, to prepare your presentation or research paper (where you will cite them in footnotes).  Indicate in your oral presentation which sources you are using for the report.

  1. Your name, a project title & a 1-2 paragraph description of your topic (what research questions do you want to pose?) (roughly page 1),
  2. the annotated bibliography of primary and secondary sources (pages 2-3+),
  3. a  1500-word (about six pages) critical discussion of your sources (see Writing Analytically, chs. 8-9) (pages 4-9). 

Number the pages consecutively; put your name and date on the first page, center the title, and begin with the project description.  Please follow the formatting style laid out in Kate Turabian’s A Manual for Writers (citation formats summarized at link to left; see reference copy at the library) for bibliographic entries. Consult with me if any questions arise about theses guidelines, how to find sources, how to frame your topic and questions, or how to complete your project.

 

Final Project

Research paper:

Compose a 1500-word (about six pages) critical discussion that constructs an argument through a close examination of your sources (see Writing Analytically, chs. 8-9).   This will be similar to but a bit longer (by a page or 250 words) than the two papers that you already submitted.   You should make use of the primary sources and at least three of your secondary sources (for example, part of a book and two articles, or three articles, or parts of two books and one article, etc.). 

The paper is due together with the bibliography.  Begin it on a separate page, after the bibliography, and submit the two parts together as one paper, uploaded in Moodle to Turnitin, on the last day of class.  

Extended essay:

Compose a 2000-word (about eight pages) critical discussion that constructs an argument through a close examination of the primary sources that you have selected from Atwill (supplemented by those in Baumler, if relevant to your topic).   Make sure to read the two chapters from Writing Analytically.   Use appropriate footnote citations to your sources.   Follow the writing and formatting guidelines for the two papers.  Submit the essay to Moodle on the last day of class.

Librarian

Profile Image
Carmen King
Contact Info
Fine Arts Librarian
Olin Library 318
Campus phone PBX 5340
740-427-5340

Office Hours:
9-5 Monday-Friday

Reference Desk Hours:
Monday 1-3
Tuesday 3-5pm
Thursday 6-9pm
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip