This is the "Annotated Bibliography" page of the "HIST 162 - Modern Japan" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 162 - Modern Japan  

Last Updated: Jan 10, 2014 URL: http://kenyon.libguides.com/hist162modernjapan Print Guide RSS Updates

Annotated Bibliography Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Annotated Bibliography Guidelines

The annotated bibliography should contain at least ten (10) entries (consult with me if any questions arise), as described below; you may include more than ten sources, especially if you use online sources, as you probably will.

1. Three books or monographs on subjects related specifically to your topic (not general histories); if you use a collection of essays, be sure to cite the specific chapter/s related to your subject. Altogether you should have at least 3 books. These are secondary sources.

2. Three articles (two, if your entry citation, #1 above, is an article) published in peer-reviewed journals found in the library or in an electronic database such as JSTOR. These too are secondary sources. The articles should be written by at least two different authors, and at least one should be recent (within last 10-15 years).

3. Four primary sources, not more than one of which has been assigned for this class. Primary sources may come from the document collections from which those assigned to class were excerpted (see bibliographies or credits in Gordon & Hoffman). Each such collection (or art catalogue, e.g.) counts as one source. At least two of the primary sources should be referred to or used by the authors of your secondary sources. Thus one of your primary sources may be inaccessible to you because of language (in Japanese) or location (in a distant library or museum). But you should be able to explain why it is important to your research project.

4. Online sources: List separately. These may or may not count as primary sources (check with me). Be sure to evaluate for reliability: who maintains the website? When was it last updated? Is the host clearly identified? Is it a university, museum, library, or government entity, or non-profit organization? Or is it a commercial entity? Does it provide a bibliography, references, or links to further resources? Papers by other students may NOT be used, although you may consult sources listed in their bibliographies. If you use images, graphics, maps, etc. from the web in your presentation, be sure to list the url for them in this section of your bibliography.

Annotations to each entry in your bibliography, including online sources, should:

1) explain where and how you found or identified the entry,
2) describe its nature and contents [e.g., read book reviews, if available],
3) explain how it relates to the other entries in the bibliography and how other author(s) use it (those that did), and
4) how it may be used in a research paper on your topic.
5) if an online source, identify & assess its reliability, as described above.

Be specific but concise. A few sentences will do.

Formatting

Copies of the Turabian style guide may be found at the Reference Desk.  You may use these copies anywhere in the library, just remember to return guide to the Reference desk when you are finished using it.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Seventh Edition: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers
Call Number: KEN Infodesk LB2369 .T8 2007

 In addition to this style guide, students may use the RefWorks software to develop folders of citations for papers in a wide range of bibliographic styles.  **One time individual registration is required.**

  • RefWorks  
      
    Web-based bibliographic citation manager in which you can create and organize collections of references and easily compile a bibliography for your research papers. The RefWorks LibGuide provides additional information.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip