Did You Know?
Did you know that you may check out books and videos from the library for your own personal purposes? By searching in our 3 catalogs, you can find research books on health, medicine, nutrition, exercise, and more. Or find some time to take care of your personal needs, by looking for cookbooks and the latest popular mystery or romance novels. We also have DVDs and streaming video collections (like Netflix).
Books and Videos on Healthy Living
- CONSORT library catalogCombined catalog of Kenyon, Denison, College of Wooster, and Ohio Wesleyan University Libraries.
- OhioLINK Library CatalogMost academic libraries in Ohio plus several public libraries.
- SearchOhioA consortium of Ohio Public Libraries with materials available for borrowing
- Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Social-issue and environmental documentaries available as streaming video.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational videos in a broad range of subjects, from health and medicine to humanities and social sciences.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational films and documentaries and includes PBS series and Criterion Collection films. See a list of current Kenyon licenses.
Good Places to Start
Local Community Resources
Find Research Articles in Library Databases
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, reports, and book excerpts covering complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation information and full text for nursing & allied health journals with coverage back to 1937.
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health care and wellness information aimed at patients
- Health Source : Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information available from health magazines, pamphlets, and books.
- Health Source : Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO with Full Text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical information and articles including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, dentistry, and veterinary medicine.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation search database for scientific and technical articles with citation analysis tools.
New York Times Health
Healthy People 2020
- HealthyPeople .govHealthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to: Encourage collaborations across communities and sectors, Empower individuals toward making informed health decisions and Measure the impact of prevention activities.
- Healthy People Topic and ObjectivesEach topic area includes an overview, objectives and data, and evidence-based resources.