This is the "Home" page of the "DANC 105: Dance History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

DANC 105: Dance History  

research guide
Last Updated: Aug 28, 2014 URL: http://kenyon.libguides.com/dance105 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides

  • Writing About Dance
    Call Number: KENYON INFO DESK GV 1594 O45 2010
  • A Manual for Writers (Turabian)
    Call Number: KENYON INFO DESK LB 2369 .T8 2013
  • many other manuals are available at the Reference Desk

Creating Electronic Bibliographies

  • RefWorks  
      
    An online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
  • Flow  
      
    Flow provides the ability to save references and documents from nearly anywhere on the web with a single click. **One time individual registration is required.**
  • Evernote
    With Evernote, all of your notes, web clips, files and images are made available on every device and computer you use.
  • Instapaper
    A simple tool to save web pages for reading later.
  • Pocket
    Access your files, pictures, and applications like Outlook, Word, Photoshop, games or any other program.
 

Getting Started

Research resources are the materials (print, electronic and multimedia) you consult when writing papers.  This library guide will assist you in locating the various types of dance materials available at Kenyon or through one of our consortial partners.  Print and electronic reference tools will include the following information:

  • Book citations (also known as monographs) include the author or editor's name(s), book title, place of publication, publisher, and date of publication.
  • Journal article citations (also known as periodicals or serials) include the author's name(s), article title, journal title, volume number, day/month/year of publication, and page numbers.  Both print and electronic indexes include this information, even if the article is available via an electronic link.
  • Internet sources include full title of the webpage and the author.  You must include the complete URL link and the date you accessed the resource on your bibliography.  Follow an evaluative practice using internet resources to be sure the information is of a quality that meets academic standards.
  • Multimedia citations include title, director/conductor, publisher, date.

Kenyon students may access the RefWorks software to use in conjunction with their research and paperwriting projects.  Simply put, RefWorks allows you to import data and organize lists of citations from a wide variety of databases.  A tutorial and guide are available once you create your account.  The company also provides Webinars to better understand the software.  Kenyon now has access to Flow, software similar to Zotero, which allows you to capture PDF files as well as bibliographic information and websites.  

Librarian

Profile Image
Carmen King
Contact Info
Fine Arts Librarian
Olin Library 318
Campus phone PBX 5340
740-427-5340

Office Hours:
9-5 Monday-Thursday
9-1 Friday

Reference Desk Hours:
Tuesday 3-5pm
Thursday 6-9pm
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip