Statistics
The library has many more statistical and dataset software databases available on the Datasets/Statistics page of the Primary Source guide.
- World Bank DataFreely available open data catalog providing download access to over 8000 indicators from World Bank data sets.
- World DataBank This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Data analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of economics topics.
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection relating to the study of global commodities in world history and how trade transformed societies over time.
- International Financial Statistics1948 - present. Source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
- Trade Stats ExpressThe International Trade Administration (ITA) strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements.
- International Data BaseInternational demographic data from the US Census Bureau
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical data in a wide range of subject areas. Find, visualize, and share U.S. and international statistics from trusted sources that cover business, crime, health, labor and more
What are Primary Sources
Primary sources vary from one discipline to another. For the international studies major , primary sources might include newspapers, foreign government documents, correspondence, or census data. Secondary sources analyze an event or interpret a event or role of an individual, primary sources provide the raw materials for scholarship.
Other useful Libguides:
Lexis Nexis (Worldwide Newspapers c1980-present)
This database provides a number of 'Help' buttons for the researcher. Be aware of the 'auto fill' feature because the 'electronic edition' of titles (such as The Times of India-electronic edition) offers fewer results than searching the complete online edition of The Times of India.
The database uses 'natural language' so there is no need to use connectors such as "AND" and "OR" between words. You should put phrases in quotation marks for best results. If you want to create a more precise search use a date restriction or the Boolean Operators "OR" AND "NOT".
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text news, legal, business and reference sources.
- Online NewspapersOnline Newspaper Directory for the World.
Worldwide Newspapers
Also see the Primary Sources Libguide's "newspaper" page for more additional electronic titles.
- New York Times (Historical archive) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes 1851-2013. - Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for 40 U.S. and a limited number international papers. Coverage indicates mid-80's to present. - Times (of London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1785-2010. - Sunday Times (of London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1822-2006. - Times of India This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1838-2007. - Washington Post (1877-2006) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1877 through 1999. - America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1690-1998. - Center for Research Libraries This link opens in a new windowMicrofilm of international newspapers may be borrowed via Interlibrary Loan.
- World News Connection This link opens in a new window
News from around the world, translated into English by and for the U.S. government, typically within 24-72 hours from the time of the original publication or broadcast.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1881-1992.
- Online NewspapersLinks to country specific news sources.
Non-English Language Sources
- Non English Language News (NexisUni)Limit by language at the bottom of the search page.
- El Caribe Digital Archive, 1956-2021 El Caribe is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo and is one of the Dominican Republic’s most influential and longest-running newspapers. Founded in 1948 under the repressive Trujillo regime (1930-1961), the newspaper has borne witness to decades of political uncertainty, economic development, and social change. Except for brief interruptions in publication for a month in 1962 and seven months in 1965, El Caribe has been a constant chronicle of national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region.
- Caribbean Newspapers This link opens in a new window Newspapers from 22 islands in the Caribbean, from 1718-1876.
- This link opens in a new window
- Compact Memory: Internet Archive of Jewish Periodicals118 German language Jewish periodicals published from 1806 to 1938.
- Ethnic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window Newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states, from 1799-1971. Emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent.
- This link opens in a new window
- Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
- This link opens in a new window
- Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection Japanese diaspora newspapers
- Imperial Russian Newspapers 18th century up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers This collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication.
- Late Qing and Republican Era Chinese Newspapers (1911-1949) The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
- Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection, from 1870-present, predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French.
- El Mundo (Puerto Rico, 1919 - 1990) Founded in 1919, El Mundo (The World) was a respected, conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico and was widely considered a key source for news until it ceased in 1990. The paper strived to live up to its slogan “Verdad y Justicia” (Truth and Justice). Key topics covered by the newspaper include industrialization of Puerto Rican society, the Great Depression, territorial relations with the United States including citizenship and activities of independence movements such as the Macheteros and FALN, the rise of the Popular Democratic Party, the Ponce massacre, the Ley de la Mordaza (Gag Law) and more.
- Newspapers at CRLMay be borrowed through InterLibrary Loan
- Southeast Asian Newspapers, 1839-1976 Southeast Asia in the late-Nineteenth and early-Twentieth centuries was largely and violently controlled by Western colonial powers, with most of the region divided among the British, French, Dutch, Spanish, and American empires, supplanted by a brief period of Japanese colonialism following the outbreak of war in Europe and the Pacific. The post-World War II era witnessed a series of revolutions as local leaders looked to regain independence from colonial powers. Decolonization efforts spread throughout the region, alongside turmoil and bloodshed, ultimately leaving the newly independent states in charge of their own political, economic, and social pathways for the first time in decades. The Southeast Asian Newspapers collection chronicles the changes that took place throughout the region during this period, and the challenges of early statehood. Covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, the Southeast Asian Newspapers collection incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries.