Electronic Dictionary
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
45,000 articles covering art and artists worldwide plus 40,000 images.
Creating a Bibliography
- A Short Guide to Writing About Art (10th edition)Complete contents: Writing about art -- Writing about art : the big picture -- Formal analysis and style -- Analytic thinking -- Writing a comparison -- Writing an entry in an exhibition catalog -- Writing a review of an exhibition -- How to write an effective essay -- Style in writing -- Art-historical research -- Some critical approaches -- Writing a research paper -- Manuscript form -- Writing essay examinations
- Writing About Art (6th edition)Complete contents Illustrations -- Preface -- Acknowledgments -- Introduction : writing as critical thinking -- 1. Choosing images : how to select the works of art you plan to write about-- 2. Using visual information : what to look for and how to describe what you see -- 3. Responding to the verbal frame : where else to look for help in understanding what you see -- 4. Working with words and images : the process of writing about what you see
Print Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Bibliographies
General
Adeline art dictionary, including terms in architecture, heraldry, and archaeology REF/N/33/A223/1966
Dictionary of artists REF/N/40/B4713/2005 vol. 1-14
Dutch art : an encyclopedia REF/N/6941/D88/1997
Extraordinary women of the Medieval and Renaissance world : a biographical dictionary REF/HQ/1143/E93/2000
Encyclopedia of Italian Renaissance and Mannerist art REF/N/6370/E53/1999 vol. 1-2
Encyclopedia of World Art REF/N/31/E4833 vol. 1-17
Fine arts : a bibliographic guide to basic reference works, histories, and handbooks REF/N/5300/E47/1990
Grove encyclopedia of northern Renaissance art REF/N/6370/G76/2009 vol. 1-3
Historical dictionary of Renaissance art REF/N/6370/Z57/2008
Lion companion to Christian art REF/N/7830/L49/2008
Random House dictionary of art and artists REF/N/33/A17/1990
Renaissance artists & antique sculpture: a handbook of sources REF/NB/85/B63/1986
Sculpture reference illustrated : contemporary techniques, terms, tools, materials, and sculpture REF/NB/1170/W55/2005
Thames and Hudson dictionary of art terms REF/N/33/L75/1984
Location
Encyclopedia of sacred places REF/BL/580/B76/1997
Guide to baroque Rome REF/NA/1120/B55/1982
International dictionary of historic places REF/CC/135/585/1994
Lion companion to church architecture REF/NA/4800/S7/2008x
Monuments of Italy. REF/DG/431/O67/2002