Find Books
- Search CONSORT catalogCONSORT is the catalog of Kenyon, Denison, Wooster, and Ohio Wesleyan Libraries.
- Search OhioLINK CatalogOhioLINK is the catalog of 120 college and university libraries in Ohio.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, journals and magazines, music scores, archival materials, and media in libraries worldwide
Find Images
- Alinari Archives This link opens in a new windowIncludes 5.5 million images which document the history, culture, customs, society, art, architecture, industry and landscape of both Italy and the world, from mid-800 to the present. The Alinari photo library also represents numerous national and international archives that offer a wealth of iconographic images, both historical and contemporary.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Artstor Digital Library features an unparalleled range of images from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository.
- ARTstor Anthropology ResourcesThe linked handout highlights ARTstor content related to the global study of human behavior, societies, and cultures, as represented by images of traditional and contemporary material culture. The handout also contains suggested Search Terms, Search Tips, and a list of Featured Collections
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present, with entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as scholarly articles and bibliographies.
- World Digital LibraryWith the support of The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, the World Digital Library makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Browser Plugin
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that provides instant links to full text content for articles as you do research on the web. Once you install the extension, you simply need to look for the green teardrop next to a citation. Nomad also provides in-line service for articles on sites such as PubMed and Wikipedia.
How do you install LibKey Nomad?
1. Visit www.LibKeyNomad.com
2. Choose the appropriate browser. Browser options include Chrome and Firefox. Click to add the extension of the browser.
3. Search for and select Kenyon in the drop-down menu.
Reference Shelves
Note: If you see Ref.and a library call number next to a title, this book is available in print in the Reference Collection available in Library B. If an ebook option is available, a link to the title is provided. If the book is stored in the Library Storage Facility, the book's call number is linked to CONSORT so you may request delivery.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology [Ref. GN11 E63 2006]
A five volume encyclopedia which studies topics related to human evolution, human culture, and human reality in a global context. This collection reports on humans as biological and cultural beings. Includes a bibliography for each entry.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology [Ref. CC70 .E54 2008 or ebook]
A three volume encyclopedia covers topics relating archaeology.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries [Ref. CC100 .E54 2001 or ebook]
This three volume series focuses on the history of the field of archaeology. Includes major events, key figures, sites, and discoveries.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologiests [Ref. CC110 .E54 1999]
This two volume series contains biographies of famous archaeologists whose work spanned the globe. Also available in an electronic version.
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology [Ref. GN307 .E52 1996]
This four volume encyclopedia covers all of the sub-fields, important persons, topics, concepts, and organizations in the field of cultural anthropology. Each essay includes a bibliography for further research.
Encyclopedia of Human Geography [GF4 E54 2006 (request from Library Storage Facility)]
This encyclopedia studies how humans use the surface of the Earth, how social phenomena are distributed spacially, and how human beings bring space into consciousness.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World [Ref. P371 .E83 2009 or ebook]
Contains information on 7,105 known living languages.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages [Ref. GT511 .P46 2004]
A broad overview of costume and clothing traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day.
History of Physical Anthropology: An Encyclopedia [GN 50.3 .H57 1997(request from Library Storage Facility)]
This two volume encyclopedia covers the major areas and subfields of the discipline. It also includes biographical sketches of major and minor figures in the field and entries on the history and development of the discipline in countries around the world.
Encyclopedia of Prehistory [Ref. GN710 E532 2000]
A nine volume encyclopedia; each volume discusses a different continent or geographic region. Provides information on all archaeologically known cultures, covering the globe and humankind's prehistory. Helpful for comparative studies.
Peoples, Nations, and Culture: An A-Z of the People's of the World, Past and Present [GN316 P38 2005 (request from Library Storage Facility) or ebook]
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology, 2nd edition [GN307 .R68 2010 (request from Library Storage Facility) or ebook]
Provides a guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline.
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology: An Encyclopedia [Ref. GN307 .T54 2013]
A two volume set which provides concise overviews of key theories and theorists.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedia spanning 25 different subject areas.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth, peer-reviewed, scholarly summaries on a range of topics.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a collection of primary source materials available via OhioLINK, Interlibrary Loan, and digitized. Here is a list of topic guides which contain a selection of key primary source materials that can support research in various areas. Subject areas you might be interested include:
Streaming Videos
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Streaming educational videos in a broad range of subjects, from health and medicine to humanities and social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window Social-issue and environmental documentaries available as streaming video.
- This link opens in a new window
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window Streaming educational films and documentaries and includes PBS series and Criterion Collection films. See a list of current Kenyon licenses.
- This link opens in a new window