American StudiesAnthropologyArt StudioArt HistoryAsian StudiesBiologyChemistryClassicsDance and DramaDigital CollectionsEnglishHistoryIPHSKenyon AuthorsLaw and SocietyMLL : ChineseMLL : FrenchMLL : GermanMLL : ItalianMLL : JapaneseMLL : RussianMLL : SpanishMusicNeurosciencePhilosophyPhysicsPsychologyReligious StudiesSociologySpecial CollectionsWomen's and Gender Studies
This is the "Withdrawals" page of the "Collection Development Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Policy  

Last Updated: Aug 21, 2014 URL: http://kenyon.libguides.com/cdpolicy Print Guide

Withdrawals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Withdrawal Policy

Recommendations of the Gifts and Withdrawal Procedures Review Committee Withdrawal Procedures October 1, 2010

Recommendation 1: the committee recognizes that different departments use library materials in different ways, and encourages all departments to work with their librarians to review (or add) criteria for weeding the library collections in their discipline as part of their departmental Collection Development Policy.

Recommendation 2: We recommend the following process for reviewing items identified for withdrawal from the LBIS collections:

1. Librarians will create lists of titles being considered for weeding, and circulate them electronically to all faculty and librarians.

a. Each list will have a review period of 3 weeks (sensitive to the Kenyon calendar).

b. For each item, the list will include bibliographical information, the number of times the item has circulated (since CONSORT records have been kept), and the reason(s) the item is being considered for withdrawal. Information about availability in CONSORT or OhioLINK may also be included.

2. LBIS will establish a public location for physical review of the items.

3. Recommendations to retain an item should be communicated either by email or by leaving a paper note with the item and should include a rationale of how the item meets collection development criteria.

a. Since these books will be in a public area, students may flag a book for review (with their rationale). Recommendations by students to keep a book will be reviewed by the subject librarian and a faculty member from the involved department. Students will be informed of the outcome. We recommend the departments and their librarians work with the student advisory boards to the departments to ensure transparency and high-quality participation.

b. Faculty members should have the option to designate books as “appropriate for withdrawal from the library collection; transfer to the department reading room” (or words to that effect). Books designated this way will be withdrawn from the library collection and catalog; they will become department property.

c. In case of disagreement, the department liaison and collection development librarian will meet with the faculty member (and student, if applicable) recommending that we keep the book, for a discussion about this book and its relationship to the subject. In cases of impasse in that discussion, the Director of Library Services and chair of the department will join the conversation. If there is a serious disagreement in priorities, we will refer the question to the Library subcommittee of the CPC.

4. At the end of the review period, books on the list which Kenyon has not chosen to retain will be processed for withdrawal.

a. We recommend working with the Public Library of Mount Vernon and Knox County to see whether their ongoing booksale would be helped by Kenyon donating our withdrawn books to them.

b. We recommend that the library work to minimize the recycling of books.

5. LBIS will report at least annually on books removed from the collection, and books which faculty members asked to retain. The report will include both summary statistics (i.e, number of items removed by call number or location, counts of reasons books were removed) and an appendix of all titles considered and the outcome.

Recommendation 3: This process should be reviewed regularly. Six months or a year of data working with the process should let us know how it is affecting workloads for both LBIS and the faculty, and we should be able to adjust the process at that time.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip