American StudiesAnthropologyArt StudioArt HistoryAsian StudiesBiologyChemistryClassicsDance and DramaDigital CollectionsEnglishHistoryIPHSKenyon AuthorsLaw and SocietyMLL : ChineseMLL : FrenchMLL : GermanMLL : ItalianMLL : JapaneseMLL : RussianMLL : SpanishMusicNeurosciencePhilosophyPhysicsPsychologyReligious StudiesSociologySpecial CollectionsWomen's and Gender Studies
This is the "Suggesting Titles" page of the "Collection Development Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Policy  

Last Updated: May 1, 2014 URL: http://kenyon.libguides.com/cdpolicy Print Guide

Suggesting Titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Suggesting Titles for Purchase

Requests for library materials are welcome, although budget considerations may mean that not all items can be purchased. We continue to reduce unnecessary duplication of materials, in order to expand the breadth of our collection and make the best possible use of our resources (physical space and budget dollars). In keeping with that policy, Kenyon acquires only a single copy for most materials.

Suggested titles may be submitted via the online web form or by other means agreed upon with the individual department library liaison. In either case, please provide as much information as possible.

All requests must be prioritized according to the following guidelines:

  • Rush
    Any item intended for course reserve for the current or next semester may be designated "RUSH" if it is not held by another CONSORT school. Since CONSORT books may be put on Kenyon course reserve, those items would not be treated as Rush orders.
  • Priority 1
    The item is considered essential within the context of our cooperative collection; there is a justifiable need for an additional copy in Kenyon's collection even if the item is held at another CONSORT location or there are eight OhioLINK copies. CONSORT and OhioLINK books may be borrowed and renewed by students for a semester and CONSORT books may be borrowed and renewed for a year by faculty.
  • Priority 2
    The title is important within the context of our cooperative collection and should be held by a CONSORT library even if there are eight OhioLINK copies.
  • Priority 3
    The title is useful and may be added if there are fewer than eight copies in OhioLINK.

Special Requests

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip