This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

HIST 490: Senior Seminar (Suarez-Potts): Secondary Sources

Finding Journal Articles

Individual journal articles are not indexed in library catalogs. In order to find individual articles within specific journals you will need to turn to an index, either in print or online.  An index (also referred to as a database) may be searched using the same subject headings and keywords you used in library catalogs.  Citations found in indexes will include the author & title of the article, the journal name (sometimes abbreviated), volume, issue or month published, and page numbers.  Once you determine the title of the journal, you may then use CONSORT and OhioLINK to find the location of the journal itself (many volumes of bound journals circulate in OhioLINK, so do not skip this step). If we do not have the journal at Kenyon and it is not available to borrow from OhioLINK, simply fill out an Interlibrary loan request form. The following History-specific and general indexes are great places to begin searching for articles.

History-specific databases

Humanities Journal Article Databases

Finding Books

The CONSORT catalog can be used to locate books, government documents, microforms, video and sound recordings, and special collections materials available in the Kenyon, Denison, Ohio Wesleyan and Wooster libraries.

In addition to CONSORT, Kenyon students also hae access to OhioLINK, the combined catalog of over 89 libraries throughout Ohio.

WorldCat is a catalog of library holdings throughout the country and world. It contains records for any type of materials: books, sound recordings, video recordings, manuscripts, etc. Click the ILL button from within WorldCat to request an item be sent to you at Kenyon. Delivery time will vary depending on the location of the 

Theses and Dissertations

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186