This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

HIST 490: Senior Seminar (Suarez-Potts): Primary Sources

Primary Source & Databases A-Z Libguides

The most complete list of databases Kenyon subscribes to is listed in our 'Databases A-Z' Libguide.  New resources are added throughout the year, to see the most recent acquisitions check out the "New Databases" box in the right column.  Our subject guides list also include an invaluable resource guide called the 'Primary Sources" Libguide, which includes newspapers, archives, and statistical data electronic links as well as some of the many primary source materials we own in print and microform formats.  Links to electronic books and how to print from e-books may also be found on the Primary Sources Libguide.

Published Primary Sources in Library Catogs

Published primary sources, particularly those in English, will be the easiest to find. Use keywords and Library of Congress subject headings in the CONSORT catalog. Choose keywords (remember to use synonyms), and then add one of the following subheadings:

  • correspondence
  • diaries
  • early works to 1800
  • interviews
  • pamphlets
  • personal narratives
  • sources

You can also ask for help at the Reference Desk. Experiment with your choice of keywords--try searching with a keyword in the "title" field, try some of the above-listed subject terms as keywords.

Once you've found one useful resource, scroll down to the hyperlinked subject headings to connect to other pertinent resources.

Remember that CONSORT is the combined catalog of only four schools, so you will most likely need to search OhioLINK (link available from CONSORT AND LBIS webpage) and WorldCAT.  The HathiTrust catalog is very useful in locating materials out of copyright right restrictions and many national & international government documents.

General Primary Source Collections

Selected Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

Newspapers and periodicals can be valuable primary sources. Use newspapers to trace public debate on a political issue, or to look at trends in advertising and culture. Periodicals, such as scientific journals, can help you to trace the development of new practices and discoveries in the field.

The two adjacent columns list many, but not all of the newspapers Kenyon researchers may access.  A complete list of our historical online access newspapers may be found on the Primary Sources Libguide (see link at the top of this page).  You must also consult our online catalog, CONSORT (link listed below), for materials we own on microfilm or microfiche.  Two additional catalogs also list newspapers and journal titles accessible via print and microform formats, these catalogs are OhioLINK and the Center for Research Libraries (links to these catalogs also listed below).

To find out whether or not CONSORT (or one of the other catalogs) has a particular newspaper or periodical, search by "journal title" using either the basic or advanced search screen.

Medieval Primary Resources

Middle Eastern and Asian Primary Sources

African & Middle Eastern Primary Resources

Caribbean, Central and South American Primary Resources

1400-1800 European Primary Resources

19th Century Primary Resources

Twentieth Century European Primary Sources

Native American Primary Sources

Colonial-19th Century Primary Resources

The Primary Sources Libguide includes a extensive page of African American resources.

American Civil War Primary Sources

The Primary Sources Libguide includes a extensive page of African American resources.

20th Century American Primary Sources

The Primary Sources Libguide includes a extensive page of African American resources.

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186