Finding Journal Articles
Individual journal articles are not indexed in library catalogs. In order to find individual articles within specific journals you will need to turn to an index, either in print or online. An index (also referred to as a database) may be searched using the same subject headings and keywords you used in library catalogs. Citations found in indexes will include the author & title of the article, the journal name (sometimes abbreviated), volume, issue or month published, and page numbers. Once you determine the title of the journal, you may then use CONSORT and OhioLINK to find the location of the journal itself (many volumes of bound journals circulate in OhioLINK, so do not skip this step). If we do not have the journal at Kenyon and it is not available to borrow from OhioLINK, simply fill out an Interlibrary loan request form. The following History-specific and general indexes are great places to begin searching for articles.
History-specific databases
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles and literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles covering the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450-present, including military history, women's history, and history of education.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles in Arts and Humanities journals from 1975-present. Also includes with citation analysis tools.
Humanities Journal Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary collection of scholarly journals, ebooks, proceedings, and newspapers covering all academic areas of study.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and other publications in all aspects of the humanities worldwide.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journal articles and books: primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Each journal has a “moving wall” for article access (time lag between the most current issue and the content at JSTOR)
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
- OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles for over 9000 journals from scholarly publishers.
- Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
Finding Books
- CONSORTCombined catalog of Kenyon, Denison, College of Wooster, and Ohio Wesleyan University Libraries.
The CONSORT catalog can be used to locate books, government documents, microforms, video and sound recordings, and special collections materials available in the Kenyon, Denison, Ohio Wesleyan and Wooster libraries.
In addition to CONSORT, Kenyon students also hae access to OhioLINK, the combined catalog of over 89 libraries throughout Ohio.
WorldCat is a catalog of library holdings throughout the country and world. It contains records for any type of materials: books, sound recordings, video recordings, manuscripts, etc. Click the ILL button from within WorldCat to request an item be sent to you at Kenyon. Delivery time will vary depending on the location of the
- OhioLINK90+ academic libraries in OhioLINK
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Locate books, journals and magazines, music scores, archival materials, and media in libraries worldwide
- Center for Research LibrariesProvides research materials to patrons of member libraries. CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. Most of the materials acquired are from outside the United States, and many are from the emerging regions of the world: Africa, the Middle East, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and Latin America. Students, faculty, and researchers at member institutions may borrow these rich source materials through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.
See also, topic guides.
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The HathiTrust Digital Library is a collaborative of academic and research libraries that has preserved 17+ million digitized items for scholarly purposes. The HathiTrust offers you reading access to these materials to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law (~26% of the collection is in the public domain).
Theses and Dissertations
- OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (ETD) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online theses and dissertations from Ohio graduate students.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation information for doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe since 1997.