This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

ENGL 391.02: ST: Arab-American Fiction: Home

Finding Books

Use CONSORT, the shared catalog of Kenyon, Denison, Ohio Wesleyan, and Wooster, to find relevant books. If you're having trouble finding an item in the library, check out How to Read a Call Number.

1. Author search: Locate books, poems, plays, etc. by a particular author: Said, Edward

2. Title search: Locate a specific work by an author: How does it feel to be a problem?

3. Keyword search:

  • Find works (such as poems or stories) that appear in collections or anthologies
  • Find literary criticism about a particular work
  • Find criticism related to themes, ideas, and topics in an author's works:
    • Darraj and fem*
      • The asterisk is a truncation symbol: this search will find "feminism," "feminisms," "feminist," etc.

When searching for literary criticism, consider using subject headings for more precise results. If a keyword search leads to a book that seems promising, click on the subject heading links at the bottom of the record to see similar items. You can also select "subject heading" in the "search by" box and try the following:

You can also search the OhioLINK catalog, which contains the holdings of most academic and a few public libraries across Ohio. 

Refworks

Use Refworks to store your bibliographic citations and create your bibliographies. 

Other Useful Guides

Requesting ILL

Use the ILL form to request articles from journals not available at Kenyon, online, or through participating OhioLINK institution*.

*Some, but not all, OhioLINK institutions will ship journals to Kenyon. Be sure to check thecatalog before submitting an ILL request.

Library Catalogs

Search our library catalogs using Keywords, for Titles of books and journals, or for Authors of books and essays. The library catalog is a list of books, journal titles, videos and more. The catalog does not list journal articles. 

Research Databases

The MLA International Bibliography is a great place to start for all of your literature and language research papers. If full-text article access is available, the database provides a link to the articles. Full-text access may be provided by JSTOR, OhioLINK's Electronic Journal Center, Ebscohost, or another provider. 

Librarian

Sarah McKee
Contact:
stclairs@kenyon.edu
(740)427-5694
Olin 316

Research and Reference Desk
Fall Semester Hours:
Monday: 1:00pm-3:00pm
Friday: 10:00am-12:00pm

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186