This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

High School History Guide: Library Introduction & Resources: Finding Journal Articles

How to Locate Journal Articles

Citations to scholarly history journal articles may be located using the indexes listed in the right-hand column. A 'citation' is the information you will need to locate an article in a specific volume of a journal, including the author's name, the title of the the article, the title of the journal, the volume number, the issue number, and the page number(s) of the article. You may repeat the search string you used to locate books, adding key terms to narrow very broad searches.  If your topic crosses over to another discipline (such as art, women's studies, etc) you may also want to check out additional databases on our A-Z Listing.

Use options in the left hand column of the results page to limit to academic articles and English language materials.  If the full-text of an article is available, you will see a link to either an PDF or an HTML file.  There are many journals which Kenyon has available in print or by other online services, so checking CONSORT will be important step to take.

History Databases

Complete listing of Databases

Check CONSORT for Additional Journal Holdings

Some of our databases do not include links to the full-text of an article.  In order to determine if the article IS available, you should check CONSORT using the 'journal search' option in the pull down menu and type in the name of the journal title.  See the example below:

 

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186