Connecting to Resources
The Kenyon College Library Catalog (part of the CONSORT catalog) permits patrons on and off campus to search library holdings. The catalog reflects holdings in our partner libraries, so please make sure an item you seek on our shelves is held at KEN. Materials (films and books) held at other CONSORT libraries may be requested by Kenyon students, staff and faculty. If you have a question about borrowing materials from another CONSORT library or from OhioLINK or SearchOhio please speak with a member of either the reference or circulation staff.
All journal databases and WorldCat require Kenyon academic or staff status. You may be asked for your last name and barcode number if you login from off campus.
Additional Library Subject Guiides
Art Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of images from a broad range of civilizations, cultures and art forms. - Alinari Archives This link opens in a new window5.5 million images which document the history, culture, customs, society, art, architecture, industry and landscape of the world from mid-800 to the present.
- American Memory ProjectA Library of Congress project.
- Wellcome ImagesOver 40,000 images from medical and social history.
Books
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Locate books, journals and magazines, music scores, archival materials, and media in libraries worldwide
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The HathiTrust Digital Library is a collaborative of academic and research libraries that has preserved 17+ million digitized items for scholarly purposes. The HathiTrust offers you reading access to these materials to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law (~26% of the collection is in the public domain).
- Beyond the turnstile : making the case for museums and sustainable valuesCall Number: AM7 .B49 2009
- Leading with passion : change management in the 21st-century museumCONSORT resource.
- Making museums matterCONSORT resource.
- Marketing the museumCONSORT resource.
- Museum and gallery education : a manual of good practiceCONSORT resource.
- Museum management and marketingCONSORT resource.
- Museum philosophy for the twenty-first centuryCONSORT resource.
- The concise Oxford dictionary of art and artistsElectronic Version
- Concise Oxford dictionary of art termsPrint Version
- Concise Oxford dictionary of art termsElectronic Version
- Oxford Art OnlineElectronic Dictionary
- A dictionary of twentieth-century artElectronic Version
- A dictionary of twentieth-century artPrint Version
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present, with entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as scholarly articles and bibliographies.
- A dictionary of modern and contemporary artThis reference work boasts worldwide coverage of modern and contemporary art from 1900 to the present day.
Museum Association Websites
- American Alliance of MuseumsThe American Alliance of Museums (formerly the American Association of Museums) is the one organization that supports all museums.
- Association of Academic Museums and GalleriesThe Association of Academic Museums and Galleries is the leading educational and professional organization for academic museums, galleries, and collections.
- Small Museum AssociationSMA's mission is to develop and maintain a peer network among people who work for small museums, giving them opportunities to learn, share knowledge and support one another, so that they, in turn, can better serve their institutions, communities and profession.
- Western Museum AssociationsWe provide opportunities for learning and personal interaction to enhance the creative skills and enrich the lives of individuals who do museum work.
Director of Collections & Access
hudsoncg@kenyon.edu
740-427-5684