|Scholarly Journals||Popular Magazines|
|Intended for academic audience, vetted by field experts||Intended for general audience|
|In-depth analysis||Broad coverage|
|Footnotes, endnotes, bibliographies||Little, if any, citations|
Search for journal articles and more using these suggested databases. If you aren't finding what you need for your assignment, make an appointment with me or stop by the reference desk for further assistance. LBIS provides access to over 200 research databases.
The CONSORT and OhioLINK catalogs do not contain information about individual articles published in journals. However, if you have a citation to a journal article--the author's name, the title of the article, the title of the journal, and the date or volume/issue number--you can search by journal title to determine if the library has the journal in print, electronically, or in microfilm.
To search for articles on your topic, use an index or database. In many cases, you can get the full text of the article by following a link from the database. If you're searching in an index without links to full-text articles, you'll need to search by journal title in CONSORT as described in the above paragraph.
Use CONSORT, the shared catalog of Kenyon, Denison, Ohio Wesleyan, and Wooster, to find relevant books.
1. Author search: Locate books, poems, plays, etc. by a particular author: Walcott, Derek
2. Title search: Locate a specific work by an author: God of Small Things
3. Keyword search:
When searching for literary criticism, consider using subject headings for more precise results. If a keyword search leads to a book that seems promising, click on the subject heading links at the bottom of the record to see similar items. You can also select "subject heading" in the "search by" box and try the following:
You can also search the OhioLINK catalog, which contains the holdings of most academic and a few public libraries across Ohio.
Search our library catalogs using Keywords, for Titles of books and journals, or for Authors of books and essays. The library catalog is a list of books, journal titles, videos and more. The catalog does not list journal articles.