This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

KAP: Introduction to the Kenyon College Library and Its Resources: Book Reviews

How to Find Book Reviews

Book reviews and in general journal articles are not listed in the CONSORT catalog.  Instead, you must use one or more of our journal databases to find book reviews.  Our journal database citations list the author of the review article (the author of the book is included in the text of the article), title of the book being reviewed, title of the journal, volume & issue number (or publication month), and the pages of the review.  If this is the case, you must check CONSORT to determine of Kenyon owns a print or electronic version of the the journal title (not the title of the article).  Other of our databases are 'fulltext' and you will, quite literally,  find the complete article at your fingertips.

Book Reviews for Older Books

If you are looking for reviews of older books, you may need to consult one of the print indexes to book reviews located on the second floor of the library in the reference collection.  The bound volumes of the citations for book reviews will require you to check CONSORT to see if we own the journal which originally reviewed the book.  This is a two part process, but a necessary skill to learn if you are to continue conducting research in the humanities and social sciences.

Suggestions for Biographical Information

For information about authors of the books you are reading, in addition to Internet sources, you may also consult biographical indexes, many of which can be found in the reference section of the library.

Relevant Book Review Databases

Newspaper Databases Including Book Reviews

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186