The "Basic Monthly Survey" covers a number of labor force and demographic questions with additional supplements covering various special topics. The Annual Social and Economic Supplement (ASEC) released in arch of each year is widely used by social scientists to answer questions about work and demographics.
Coverage from 1878 to present. In print, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Online it is 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Provides original datasets with customizable graphs and tables. Users can scan the contents of these datasets, select subjects and variables of interest (e.g., geographic area and time period), and view the data in side-by-side tables and charts. Also includes data on consumer demographics and usage/spending patterns for products and services within all states, counties, census tracts, and block groups in the US. Data sources include Mediamark’s annual Survey of the American Consumer, BLS’s Consumer Expenditure Survey, Census 2000, the American Community Survey, and the Census of Retail Trade.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Login and create a MyData account to download members-only data and some publicly available data and other additional functionality.
(Formerly State Stats) Featuring data from more than 80 different government and non-government sources and backed by a rich collection of more than 3,000 current and historical data series on popular topics of research interest, State Stats uniquely allows users to discover, view, and export key information measures for the 50 states and the District of Columbia.
World DataBank (from The World Bank) is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of economics topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
Freely available statistics from OECD countries. Enables the visualization of socio-economic information at detailed territorial level providing clear insight on regional differences and performance within a country and comparison of different areas across countries.
States Perform is an initiative of the Council of State Governments that provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education