This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Collection Development Policy: Dance and Drama

Liaison

Dance and Drama Collection Development Policy

GENERAL PURPOSE

The Dance and Drama Department’s library holdings principally reflect departmental course offerings in theater history, play production and performance, costume history, script writing, directing, film studies, and film production as well as a wide variety of courses in dance history, techniques, and production. In addition to supporting the curriculum, the collection features materials of value to student dance ensembles and the theatrical interests of the community.

GENERAL SUBJECT BOUNDARIES

The wide-ranging needs of set designers, costumers, playwrights, filmmakers, and dancers have led to an eclectic collection of print and non print materials. Books on costume history ranging from fans to military uniforms to swim wear and dance apparel are routinely utilized by the students and faculty. Large picture books of lighting fixtures, furniture, rugs, decorative objects, and floor plans are as necessary as playscripts from Samuel French, Broadway Publishing and Dramatist Play Service. New course offerings in film history and filmmaking in the department dictate that we purchase monographs in these fields of study. Books on dance history, dance technique and theory, the health of dancers, and biographies of choreographers as well as dancers are all important in the general collection development of the department’s library holdings.

TYPES OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

We primarily collect current and award winning plays by American playwrights with some European authors also represented. A mixture of large ensemble scripts as well as one-act plays and collections of monologues form the foundation of our holdings. Print and non print materials on dance history, dance theory and dance productions are actively acquired. Documentary films, feature films, filmed productions of plays, and dance performances are a part of the course of study and are acquired throughout the academic year. Continuing purchases by the dance faculty include recordings of music specifically for dance studios and piano scores written for dancers.

FORMAT OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

The majority of the plays we order are in playscript format rather than in a hardbound edition. It should be noted that we normally purchase two copies of plays in the playscript format. A number of videotaped performances are collected each year for the dance faculty and feature films in the DVD format are acquired for use by the faculty teaching film studies. Scores and recordings are regularly purchased for use in the dance studios.

LANGUAGES

Printed works in languages other than English are rarely collected. Films in other languages are collected when we are able to obtain subtitled versions.

GEOGRAPHICAL AREAS

The drama collection focuses primarily upon materials from North America and Europe. Our dance collection includes materials and videotaped examples of dance around the world with emphasis upon North American and European traditions. The film collection is international in geographic scope.

CHRONOLOGICAL GUIDELINES

We will continue to collect materials relating to the historical production of theater, film and dance with special emphasis on contemporary plays, film and dance performances.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS AND MANUSCRIPTS

No special collections in the fields of dance, film and drama are currently held by the library.

OTHER RESOURCES AVAILABLE

CONSORT and OhioLINK provide additional resources for the department. A web page is under construction to assist students and faculty members with dance and drama research.

CREATION DATE AND REVISION HISTORY

June 2010

LC CLASS

GT, GV, PN, PR, PS

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186