This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Collection Development Policy: Art History

Liaison

Art History Collection Development Policy

GENERAL PURPOSE

The Art History Department library collection supports the course work and research requirements of the art historians and the art history students. Monographs range from exhibition catalogs, critical theory texts, biographies of artists, and art history surveys to form the core of the collection.

GENERAL SUBJECT BOUNDARIES

Subjects in the collection include ancient through modern western European/American art and Chinese art (all periods). A limited number of specialized monographs on prehistoric European and Asian art (non-Chinese) are also collected annually. The primary emphasis of the art history collection remains focused on the subject areas of architecture, painting, sculpture, and drawing. To a lesser degree we acquire monographs on decorative arts (prints, manuscripts, ceramics, etc). Printed materials relating to textiles, furniture and household items are acquired by the Dance and Drama Department library funds.

TYPES OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

The Art History Department actively collect monographs, exhibition catalogs and serials. Our monograph collection includes guides to national/international museums, individual biographies, art historical surveys, catalogue raisonnes of important artists, handbook/technique manuals, and individual as well as group exhibition catalogs. The serials collection places emphasis on scholarly titles for the art history students and faculty.

FORMAT OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

In addition to print materials the Department requests projected media (both videotapes and DVD productions) of documentaries on art movements and important individuals. We also have a large collection of sales catalogs from Sotheby's and Christie's donated to the library.

LANGUAGES

Historically the collection has included primarily English language materials, with a small number of reference works and monographs in European languages. A future goal will be to collect major European language reference works on a regular basis and even a greater number of monographs European and Asian languages. Our print serials collection currently emphasizes English language materials with a limited number of European language titles in the collection. We hope to add international titles through electronic sources as those materials become available online.

GEOGRAPHICAL AREAS

The art and art history collection focuses primarily upon materials from North America, Europe, China, Japan, and India. As new subject areas are introduced or special topics courses are offered print and non-print will be collected to provide for those studies.

CHRONOLOGICAL GUIDELINES

All periods of pre-history and history are included in the collection.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS AND MANUSCRIPTS

The Special Collections holdings include many valuable and out-of-print art/art history books. Faculty often bring their students to the facility to see displays of our facsimile editions of Books of Hours, the Monasticon Anglicanum by William Dugdale, the Nuremburg Chronicles, and the typography collection.  In addition, the Special Collections holdings include examples of early tintypes and daguerreotypes.

OTHER RESOURCES AVAILABLE

Refer to our web page for specific online databases used by students and faculty in this department. Consort and Ohiolink are also valuable resources used by the department.

CREATION DATE AND REVISION HISTORY

Summer 2001

LC CLASS

N-NX, TR

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186