This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Collection Development Policy: MLL : Russian

Liaison

Karen Greever's picture
Karen Greever
Contact:
Reference Desk:
Mon: 1pm - 3pm
Thur: 1pm - 3pm
Also available by appointment
1-740-427-5420
Website / Blog Page

MLL : Russian Collection Development Policy

GENERAL PURPOSE

The Russian language and literature collection supports the teaching programs and research needs of students and faculty of the Russian section of the MLL department. While departmental activity requires coverage of all periods of Russian language, literature, and civilization, concentration is on the literature of the 19th and 20th centuries and on current Slavic linguistics. Materials in film studies, art, folklore, and history are also purchased.

GENERAL SUBJECT BOUNDARIES

The focus of collection development is on 19th and 20th century literary works in the original and in translation. We also acquire secondary works on Russian literature and culture, primarily in English.

TYPES OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Monographs and serials constitute the core of the collection. Standard reference works are routinely collected. Two Russian language newspapers are purchased.

FORMAT OF MATERIALS COLLECTED

Print materials make up the bulk of the collection, although audiovisual materials are also acquired.

LANGUAGES

Russian is the primary language of the collection; English is the secondary language. Works in other Slavic languages may be occasionally acquired.

GEOGRAPHICAL AREAS

The collection emphasizes Russian language works published in Russia, the United States, and Europe. The collection includes critical works, works on linguistics, and translations published in the United States and Europe.

CHRONOLOGICAL GUIDELINES

Primarily 19th and 20th century.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS AND MANUSCRIPTS

Does not currently contain materials relating to Russian as an academic discipline.

OTHER RESOURCES AVAILABLE

We work through CONSORT to increase our access to less commonly-used materials. Students and faculty make use of OhioLINK and ILL for their research.

CREATION DATE AND REVISION HISTORY

Created November 1999 by Natalia Olshanskaya

Reviewed November 2009 by Karen Greever

LC CLASS

PG

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186