This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

Collection Development Policy: Kenyon Authors

Liaison

Karen Greever's picture
Karen Greever
Contact:
Reference Desk:
Mon: 1pm - 3pm
Thur: 1pm - 3pm
Also available by appointment
1-740-427-5420
Website / Blog Page

Kenyon Authors Collection Development Policy

  1. The Kenyon Authors Collection celebrates and honors some of the contributions of faculty, administrators and staff to contemporary scholarship.
  2. The Kenyon Authors Collection exists in two parts, a non-circulating collection located in Special Collections and a circulating collection which is part of the general collection.
  3. The non circulating Kenyon Authors Collection in Special Collections is composed of monographs that are authored, co-authored, edited, co-edited, translated, or illustrated by a Kenyon faculty member, administrator, or staff member while he or she was employed at Kenyon College. The library will attempt to obtain one copy of all such works. For most titles, the library will also obtain a second copy of these works to add to the circulating Kenyon Authors Collection, which is part of the general collection, but this is done at the discretion of library collection development staff.
  4. Only monographs of current faculty, administrators, or staff are added to the Kenyon Authors Collection. At the discretion of collection development staff, works by faculty, administrators, or staff who have retired from Kenyon but who have maintained their Kenyon affiliation may also be added.
  5. Retrospective collecting of monographs published by Kenyon Authors in the past while they were employed at Kenyon may be done when possible.
  6. Gifts of materials for the Kenyon Authors Collection will be favorably considered.
  7. Articles, scholarly papers, chapters, and similar publications, e.g., recorded lectures, are not included within the Kenyon Authors Collection. When available, such materials may be filed in the Kenyon Archives at the discretion of library staff. The Kenyon Authors Collection is not intended to be a comprehensive record of scholarly output.
  8. The Greenslade Special Collections and Archives hosts an annual reception to honor authors of new acquisitions to the Kenyon Authors Collection.

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186