Using Electronic Databases and Journals
Citations to scholarly journal articles may be located using the indexes listed in the right-hand column. A 'citation' is the information you will need to locate an article in a specific volume of a journal, including the author's name, the title of the the article, the title of the journal, the volume number, the issue number, and the page number(s) of the article. You may repeat the search string you used to locate books, adding key terms to narrow very broad searches.
To determine if the Kenyon Library owns a journal title listed search for the journal title in Consort.
EXAMPLES
A keyword search for 'hildegard bingen' in Art Full Text resulted in a listing of 30 citations (including articles about her, book reviews of books about her, exhibition reviews, illustrations of her works in journals). To narrow this search I added the term 'illumination' to one of the search term boxes in the 'advanced search' option, my results numbered 3.
Selected Electronic Journals
The list below is in alphabetical order. A complete alphabetical list of our journal titles (print and electronic) may be found through this link.
- Burlington MagazineThe Burlington Magazine Publications Ltd has created an Online Index which includes the entire content of The Burlington Magazine dating from March 1903 until December 2002. (Work in issues 2003-present is in progress).The Online Index is free to use, subject to free registration. JSTOR subscribers can then view articles and illustrations online.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
- Different Visions: a journal for new perspectives on medieval artAn open access journal from the University of Albany, SUNY.
- GestaIssues from 1/1/1963-3 years from current date (rolling wall). Vol. 3 never published.
- Haskins Society journal studies in medieval historyCovers Great Britain's medieval period 1066-1485
Electronic Indexes and Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, featuring PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. - Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database offers broad coverage of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture, and art history. - Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides users access materials published since 1929 covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. - Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new windowThe Bibliography of the History of Art indexes articles from over 1200 journals between 1975-2007 covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Although the database primarily indexes and abstracts scholarly literature on the history of the world from 1450 to the present some materials from the medieval period are included. This inclusion focuses on book reviews about and historical topics after the year 1100 AD. - International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is the successor to BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) and covers European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. - Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new windowBibliography of approximately 1,100,000 records for articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries and reviews, collected from over 10,000 publications, including over 1,700 journals. Covers the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
- Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 full text journals. Coverage generally begins with volume one of a journal, and ends 2-5 years from the present. - OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 10,000 journals covering primarily the last seven years worth of literature. Some journal titles include accessto earlier volumes. - Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2,300 journals with full text from 1,200.
