This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

International Studies Resources: Finding Journal Articles

Electronic Databases

Indexes can be resources which allow you to find coverage of events, activities, and people at the time that they occurred or lived (primary sources). They can also be resources for articles which discuss/analyze events and people after the fact (secondary sources). It is important when utilizing electronic resources that you are aware of the time period coverage of each resource. For example, the coverage of general news magazines in Periodical Abstracts only extends back to the mid-1980s. This means it may be necessary to refer to the print equivalents or predecessors of the electronic resources.

Full Text Journal Databases

Indexes help identify specific articles, but it can be useful to browse a journal to see what it covers generally, or whether there might be multiple relevant articles in a particular issue of a journal. you can browse print periodicals in Chalmers Library (current issues on the 3rd floor, and older bound volumes on the 1st floor). Many of our electronic journals are found in the online Consort catalog if you search by 'journal title'. Two of our majour eletronic journal collections are located through the links below:

Print Resources

PAIS (1972- )
[Print volumes from 1917-1973 are in Olin Library at HB1 .A1 P34]
Indexes and abstracts the world's public affairs literature. Fields covered include political science, international relations, economics, and other social sciences. Types of materials indexed included journal articles; books; government documents; and statistical compilations.

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186