Using Electronic Indexes and Databases
Citations to scholarly journal articles may be located using the indexes listed to the right. A 'citation' is the information you will need to locate an article in a specific volume of a journal, including the author's name, the title of the the article, the title of the journal, the volume number, the issue number, and the page number(s) of the article. You may repeat the search string you used to locate books, adding key terms to narrow very broad searches.
To determine if the Kenyon Library owns a journal title listed in one of the databases or indexes search for the journal title (not the article title) in Consort.
Finding Articles in Journals Not Available in Kenyon
- Interlibrary Loan**one time registration required**
To obtain articles in journals which our library does not own you must place Interlibrary loan requests online. If the journal is in another Consort or Ohiolink library you will normally receive a xeroxed copy of the article in 2-3 weeks. If the journal is not in either Consort or Ohiolink it may take longer for our staff to locate a copy elsewhere in the country. Please allow yourself plenty of time when requesting a copy of a journal article.
Online Databases & Indexes
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
IBTD is an index to journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance. Since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. TRDC will continue indexing various titles for the database as well as coordinating international contributors. The database contains full text for more than 100 periodicals and 100 monographs. Full text from 170 journals and 360 monographs.
- Dance Impulse Annuals (1950-1970)The periodical Impulse established the first link between discourses in dance and the humanities while publishing a panorama of articles on dance, culture, life and art between 1949 and 1970. Each issue also has a distinctive title. It is recommended that you consult the comprehensive and authoritative work " PERSPECTIVES ON CONTEMPORARY DANCE HISTORY : REVISITING IMPULSE, 1950-1970" (currently on order for Kenyon) to locate appropriate citations.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This resource contains more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. - Readers' Guide Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes 300 popular general-interest periodicals, 1983-present. - Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Readers' guide retrospective, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a database indexing 375 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. The database is limited in its coverage of the dance discipline. - Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text provides comprehensive abstracting and indexing for 400 leading international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. This database offers broad coverage of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture, and art history. A limited number of articles are available full-text via a link, other links designate Ohiolink holdings. Kenyon has access from 1984 to present. - Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts scholarly literature on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistoric times to the present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 2,200 full text journals. Limited number of dance articles. Current seven years of materials is limited. - OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes 9,100 journals. Limited to just seven years worth of data.
Newspapers
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features news, business, government, and legal sources from LexisNexis, dating back to 1790. It includes articles, broadcasts, newswires, and newspapers archives from the local to international level.
- New York Times (Historical archive) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage is from 1851-2013. Provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. - Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1881 to 1992. - Sunday Times (of London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1822-2006. - Times (of London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1785-2010.