This is the "Anth113" page of the "Finding Ethnographies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Ethnographies   Tags: anthropology, cultural, culture, customs, ethnography, people  

A guide for students in ANTH 113 (Introduction to Cultural Anthropology) on how to find ethnographies in our library.
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2014 URL: http://kenyon.libguides.com/anth113 Print Guide RSS Updates
Anth113 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Don't Forget

Kenyon's library does not place all of its ethnographies together on a shelf. Due to the wide range of topics, subject areas, and geographic regions covered in our collection of ethnographies, the books are scattered throughout the building. For example, ethnographies may be shelved in the library under Religion (B), Social Sciences (H), Music (M), or Medicine (RA). 

 

Choosing a Culture

Reference books can be helpful if you don't know where to begin. If you find a topic or subject of interest, check the bibliography for the title of an ethnography, the name of an anthropologist, or see if the author of the encyclopedia's article has written an ethnography.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Call Number: Reference Section: GN11 .E63 2006
ISBN: 0761930299

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Call Number: Reference Section: GN307 .E53 1991
ISBN: 0816118094

Cover Art
Peoples, Nations, and Cultures: An A-Z of the Peoples of the World, Past and Present
Call Number: Reference Section: GN316 .P38 2005
ISBN: 0304365505

Cover Art
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: Available Online
ISBN: 0787605522

 

Strategies for Finding an Ethnography

  1. Think about your interests.
    • Is there an area of world that intrigues you?
    • Have you traveled somewhere and want to learn more about the local people in that area?
    • Do you want to learn more about a specific custom or way of life?
  2. Encyclopedias and other reference books can be helpful if you don't know where to begin. If you find a topic or subject of interest, check the bibliography for the title of an ethnography or see if the author of the encyclopedia's article has written an ethnography.
  3. Search the library's catalog using Keywords (words that you create), the Title of a specific book, or the name of an Author.
  4. Using Library of Congress Subject Headings may also be helpful. Every item in the library's catalogs is categorized by a subject. Subjects Headings are controlled vocabulary terms which use simple terms to define a topic or subject. Examples of relevant subject headings, in CONSORT and OhioLINK, for ANTH 113, include:
  5. When Browsing the shelves of either the reference collection or the main stacks, try to be familiar with the Library of Congress Classification Scheme.
    • Class G: Geography. Anthropology. Recreation
      • GN301-674: Ethnology. Social and Cultural Anthropology
      • GT1-7070: Manners and Customs
    • Class D: World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.
    • Class E: History of the Americas
    • Class F: History of the Americas
 

Locating a Specific Book

  1. The CONSORT catalog can be used to locate books (and other matierials such as videos, sound recordings, government documents, and special collections materials) available in the Kenyon, Denison, Ohio Wesleyan, and the College of Wooster libraries. Items requested from Denison should arrive in 24-36 hours, and Wooster/Ohio Wesleyan requests will arrive in 3-5 days.
  2. Kenyon students also have access to OhioLINK, the combined catalog of 88 academic and public libraries throughout Ohio. Books requested through OhioLINK will take 3-5 days to be delivered.
  3. WorldCat is a catalog of library holdings throughout the country and world. It contains records for many types of materials: books, sound recordings, video recordings, manuscripts, etc. You must use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request items not available via CONSORT or OhioLINK. Delivery time will vary depending on the location of the material. Some requests may take up to 6 weeks.

Contact Information

Profile Image
Julia Warga
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Associate Director for Research and Instruction
Olin Library 316
740.427.5834 (on campus x.5834)

Fall Semester Reference Desk Hours:
Mondays 6:00pm-9:00pm
Wednesdays 10:00am-12:00pm

Also available
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip