This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Kenyon College

 

ENGL 103.12: Secrets and Confessions: Home

Contemporary Authors Series

Contemporary Authors

The series is stored in the Bound Periodicals shelves, located on the first floor of Chalmers.
To use Contemporary Authors, consult the most recent Cumulative Index (from the New Revision Index v. 1-256). For each author, there is a list of references: CANR refers to Contemporary Authors New Revision, CA is Contemporary Authors, and DLB is Dictionary of Literary Biography, another useful series. The number after each abbreviation is the volume number; entries within each volume are alphabetical by the author's last name.

The Contemporary Authors series is a set of bio-bibliographical guides to writers of fiction, poetry, journalism, drama, film, and more. Each entry includes a biographical sketch, a bibliography of the author's works, and an essay that includes information about critical assessments of and engagements with these works. You'll also find a selection of biographical and critical sources listed for further reading.

A Guide to Reading Citations

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition. Copies may be found at the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of Olin Library. 

Examples:

Book by a single author
Last name, First name. Title of the Book. City of publication: The publisher's name, year of publication. Medium of publication consulted.

A work in anthology
Last name, First name. "Title of piece." Ed./Trans. Name of editor/translator. Title of Anthology. City of publication: The publisher's name, year of publication.    Page numbers. Medium of publication consulted.

Article in a scholarly journal
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Journal Title. Volume number. Issue number (Year of publication): page numbers. Medium of publication consulted.

Article in a Reference Resource 
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Name of reference resource. City of publication: The publisher's name, year of publication. Medium of publication consulted.

Online Work
Name (author or corporate entity). “Title of work.” Title of web site. Publisher of web site (if available). Date of publication (if available). Web. Date of access.


Catalogs

Search our library catalogs using Keywords, for Titles of books and journals, or for Authors of books and essays. The library catalog is a list of everything the library owns.

Databases

Search for journal articles and more using databases. If you aren't finding what you need for your assignment, use the English Resource page, make an appointment with us, or stop by the reference desk for further assistance. LBIS provides access to over 200 research databases.

Search Engines

Examples of a search engine are:

Subject Guide

© 2015. LBIS, Kenyon College
103 College Drive, Gambier, OH 43022-9624
Tel: (740) 427-5186