Internet Resources
- Case Western University’s Center For Research on Tibet
- Tibet Album, British Photography in Central Tibet, 1920-1950collections held at Oxford, British Museum, etc.
- Tibet: Maps and images, 1901-1937from the American Geographical Society digital collection
- Central Tibetan Administration
Online Journals
- Journal of the International Association of Tibetan StudiesJIATS is an official publication of the International Association of Tibetan Studies.
- Revue d'Etudes TibétainesDec. 2012 issue contains articles on self-immolation.
- List of Journals of Himalayan Studies
- Asian Highlands Perspectives (AHP)This is a trans-disciplinary journal focusing on the Tibetan Plateau and surrounding regions, including the Southeast Asian Massif, Himalayan Massif, the Extended Eastern Himalayas, the Mongolian Plateau, and other contiguous areas.
Selected Reference Materials
Reference sources can help you get started with your research and/or expand your topic. The library has many reference books which include Tibet on a wide variety of topics including:
China's provincial statistics, 1949-1989
Call Number: KEN Ref HC427.92 .C45145648 1993
Historical dictionary of Tibet
Call Number: KEN Ref DS786 .P683 2012
Dictionary of Asian mythology [electronic resource]
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (vols. 5 & 7)
Call Number: KEN Infodesk ML 100 .G16 1998
THE FOLLOWING TITLE IS ON COURSE RESERVE FOR HIST 353:
Tibetan history reader
Call Number: DS785 .T495 2013
Research Project
A 12-15 page paper on a topic chosen in consultation with the instructor. A ten-page draft is due on the day of your presentation to class on 2 May. The final, polished paper should be uploaded to Moodle on May 9 by 4 pm. The following components of the project, completed in a timely fashion, will help you produce your best work (see guidelines in Moodle):
1. Paper proposal with a preliminary annotated bibliography, due in class March 28 . 3-5 pages. The class will attend a research session in the library on March 21. We will go over proposals in class. (5 %)
2. A 5-6 page critical analysis of 3 scholarly articles on your topic that analyzes the work and arguments of at least two different authors, the sources they use, how they use or interpret them, etc. Due Sunday April 7, uploaded to Moodle and as Word file emailed to your peer reviewer (another class member). We will go over them in class. (10%)
3. 7 page draft for consultation with instructor on April 25
4. Oral presentation (10 page draft submitted) on May 2 (10%)
10 minute presentation of your research
Final polished paper (12-15 pages, excluding bibliography), with bibliography, all properly formatted, paginated, titled, etc.
Due May 9, 4 pm. (20%)
Librarian |
Contact Info Fine Arts Librarian Olin Library 318 Campus phone PBX 5340 740-427-5340 Reference Desk Hours: Tues & Wed 3-5pm Thursday 6-9pm Office Hours: 9-5 Monday-Thursday 9-1 Friday Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
