This is the "The Online Catalog" page of the "DRAM 256 Contemporary Drama" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

DRAM 256 Contemporary Drama  

Last Updated: Jan 10, 2014 URL: http://kenyon.libguides.com/DRAM256 Print Guide RSS Updates

The Online Catalog Print Page
  Search: 
 

CONSORT

Consort is the combined library catalogs of Kenyon College, the College of Wooster, Ohio Wesleyan University, and Denison University.

OhioLINK

The Ohiolink central catalog is a 90+ library consortium for the use of students in Ohio.  Materials held in Ohiolink circulate freely among institutions, with the exception of many periodical titles, rare items held in Special Collections rooms and reference books.  Items requested by patrons should arrive within a week of the initial request and may be renewed by the patron as needed.  Some multimedia items only circulate for a one week period and may not be renewed.

Summon

Summon is the new database which combines many (but NOT all) of our electronic resources.  At this time Summon does not include the Ohiolink catalog.  Summon is similar to using Google Scholar.  The patron must create a search string which best describes their research focus.  If you create too broad a search string you will be will be overwhelmed by the number of citations the database will find.  A very narrow search string may frustrate the researcher.

If you find yourself intrigued by the availability of Summon please feel free to use the database and consult with a librarian when you have a question.

 

Getting Started

Reference books housed in the Kenyon Library are a good place to begin your research projects.  Normally drama books are located in the literature section of our collection (the Library of Congress call number 'P') in both the reference area and in the Library's main stacks.  The call number will vary slightly based on the nationality of your author.  You may refer directly to books suggested by the online catalog or browse the reference literature collection.  If you have a question about locating reference materials for your project ask a librarian for assistance.

Books in the reference area include dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, and also series of books such as British Writers and Contemporary Authors. These materials do not leave the library.

Our main circulating book collection includes plays by dramatists, criticism of the dramatists and their works, as well as casebooks.  Online records indicate appropriate call numbers:

For example: plays by Tennessee Williams are located under PS3545.I5365 .  Criticism of his works and related texts will also be found in this area.  While plays written by Alan Bennett (an English dramatist) are located under the call number PR6052.E5


Please note that books, films and titles of journals are listed in our Consort Catalog.  The Catalog does not include individual titles of articles cited in databases.  You may seach for journal titles and link electronically to may or visit the first floor of the library to access our print collection of journals.  The journals are in alphabetical order.  For journal titles we do not own speak with a librarian as some are available through OhioLink while others you may request through Interlibrary Loan.

How to search the Consort and OhioLINK online catalogs

1.  Gather a list of useful words or terms from lecture notes and/or assigned readings to begin your research in the CONSORT/Ohiolink web catalog and online journal indexes. Books owned by other Consort libraries may be requested and will be sent here in 3-4 working days.  Materials requested from Denison may arrive in 1 or 2 days, depending on the day you order the item.  If you cannot locate materials on your subject or all of the CONSORT copies are checked out, you should search the Ohiolink online card catalog for additional materials. Books, and some bound volumes of journals, may be requested from the Ohiolink catalog using your barcode on the back of your student ID.

2.  Interlibrary Loan requests, for journal articles or books not in Consort or Ohiolink, may be filled out using our online form, if you need assistance filling out the form based on a citation you found or have a question about a journal abbreviation, etc. just stop by the Reference Desk for assistance.  Everyone has to create an ILIAD account to submit an Interlibrary Loan requests.  Select a password which is easy to remember, but not the same as your network or email account (the password does not change every 6 months as our network accounts do at present).  Your ILIAD account will remain yours to use during your career at Kenyon.

3.  Suggestion: Begin your research in Consort using simple WORD searches and take notes on the various subject headings listed for books which you find. If you prefer to use proper SUBJECT HEADING searches, consult the appropriate volume of the Library of Congress Subject Headings (a copy is available at the Reference Desk).  Subject headings often carry over for use in journal indexes and so it is useful to keep a running list of terms you glean from databases and indexes.

example WORD search for books:
miller crucible this search resulted in 43 items, not all were related to Arthur Miller's play
miller crucible criticism resulted in 11 items, only four of which are currently in our library or accessible via Kenyon electronic links
example SAMPLE SUBJECT HEADING search for books:
witchcraft in literature this search resulted in 11 books being located

4.  It is possible to refine your searches further if you are looking for video recordings or sound recordings, to mention just two limiting features. From a general search page select the 'limit/sort' or 'modify search' button at the top of the search screen and then click on the relevant search option(s).

example
limit search: miller crucible this search results in 43 items
limit to videos: miller crucible this limited search produces 4 items
      
     

    How to search the Summon database

    Summon is the new database which combines many (but NOT all) of our electronic resources.  At this time Summon does not include the Ohiolink catalog.  Summon is similar to using Google Scholar.  The patron must create a search string which best describes their research focus.  If you create too broad a search string you will be will be overwhelmed by the number of citations the database will find.  A very narrow search string may frustrate the researcher.

    If you find yourself intrigued by the availability of Summon please feel free to use the database and consult with a librarian when you have a question.

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Carmen King
    Contact Info
    Fine Arts Librarian
    Olin Library 318
    Campus phone PBX 5340
    740-427-5340

    Office Hours:
    9-5 Monday-Thursday
    9-1 Friday

    Reference Desk Hours:
    Tuesday 3-5pm
    Thursday 6-9pm
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip